I want to thank all the scholars who submitted their work to *Essays* over the last year. *EEHB* received 23 new submissions since April 2013. We also had seven submissions still pending from last year. Of these 30 papers, a decision was reached on 25 (with the other five still pending). Five papers were accepted, and appear here, while the remaining 20 were rejected, for an acceptance rate of 20 percent. The average time between submission and initial decision was 45 days, in keeping with our goal of getting back to authors as quickly as possible.

The editors are pleased to announce the creation of a new annual award tied to the journal—The James Soltow Award for Best Paper Published in *Essays*. *This will come with a \$1,000 cash prize* and will replace the current award structure we have in place.

The Economic and Business History Society is also pleased to announce the creation of two new awards that will be tied to papers presented at the organization's annual conference: The Fred Bateman Award for Best Paper Presented at the Economic and Business History Society Conference, and The Lynne Pierson Doti Award for Best Paper Presented by a Graduate Student at the Economic and Business History Society Conference. *Each of these awards will come with a \$500 cash prize.*

I want to sincerely thank the following individuals who generously provided their time and talent by serving as referees for *EEBH* in the last two years (we publish this list only every two years to ensure anonymity). I am so grateful to have such a high-quality group of reviewers. Your hard work is appreciated!

Pablo Martin Aceña, University of Alcalá Jeremy Atack, Vanderbilt University Ben Baack, Ohio State University Thomas Barfield, Boston University Erik Benson, Cornerstone University Mark Billings, University of Exeter

Dan Bogart, University of California-Irvine

Thomas Boston, Georgia Institute of Technology

Loren Brandt, University of Toronto

Jamie Bronstein, New Mexico State University

Sue Bruley, University of Portsmouth

Paul Carlson, Texas Tech University

Filipe Castro, Texas A&M University

Peter A. Coclanis, University of North Carolina

David Colander, Middlebury College

Wendell Cox, Demographia

Stephanie Crofton, High Point University

Jennifer Delton, Skidmore College

Craig A. Depken II, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Ranjit S. Dighe, State University of New York at Oswego

John Dove, Troy University

Kevin Dowd, Durham University Business School

Barry Eichengreen, University of California, Berkeley

Jari Eloranta, Appalachian State University

Michael Ezra, Sonoma State University

Laura Fair, Michigan State University

Anne Fleming, Harvard University

Neil Forbes, Coventry University

Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University

Helen Glew, University of Westminster

James Richard Hill, Central Michigan University

James Hoopes, Babson College

Douglas Irwin, Dartmouth College

James R. Irwin, Central Michigan University

Samuel Kalman, St. Francis Xavier University

Akbar Keshodkar, Zayed University

Edward Kosack, University of Colorado, Boulder

Moramay Lopez-Alonso, Rice University

Lin Man-houng, National Taiwan Normal University

Randy McFerrin, New Mexico State University Frank McIntyre, Rutgers University Allan Meltzer, Carnegie Mellon University Jari Ojala, University of Jyvaskyla Dimitri Papadimitriou, Bard College Gary Pecquet, Central Michigan University Robin Pearson, University of Hull James Piereson, William E. Simon Foundation Jared Rubin, Chapman University Bert Spector, Northeastern University John Strachan, Lancaster University Daniel Swan, University of Portsmouth Scott B. Sumner, Bentley University William Thomas, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Janice Traflet, Bucknell Univeristy Nuno Valério, Technical University of Lisbon Patrick Van Horn, New College of Florida Mark Wilson, University of North Carolina at Charlotte David Wheelock, Federal Reserve of Saint Louis Abigail York, Arizona State University David Zalewski, Providence College

Finally, the Economic and Business History Society thanks Central Michigan University's College of Business for generous financial support toward the publication and production of the journal.

form Jayla

Jason E. Taylor Editor-in-Chief Essays in Economic & Business History April 2014

EBHS PRESIDENT'S REPORT 2013

By Ranjit Dighe, EBHS President, 2012-2013

The 2014 EBHS Conference in Baltimore, Maryland on May 23-25 was a great success. We had over 100 registrants and 83 papers presented, including a stellar keynote speech by Louis Galambos of Johns Hopkins, which is reprinted in this volume. Participants came from four continents, and local participation was strong as well.

The conference was held in the spectacular Grand Historic Venue, formerly a Masonic temple. For our annual field trip, the group took a tour of Oriole Park at Camden Yards. Other excursions included an Orioles game, crab cakes at Lexington Market, and dinners at top-rated area restaurants.

We are greatly indebted to the State University of New York at Oswego and the University of Buckingham for their financial support, including the beautiful conference program prepared by SUNY Oswego Publications; Olli Turunen for the new EBHS website; our vendors: Cambridge University Press, The Johns Hopkins University Press, The Liberty Fund, Pickering & Chatto, and The University of Chicago Press; Lauren Flaig and Sharon Tietjens of the Tremonts; d. Morales of Visit Baltimore; our student assistants, Tim James and Christine Magruder; and all of our panel chairs and discussants.

I hope to see you at our 2014 conference in Manchester.