# Essays in

The Journal of the Economic & Business Historical Society

Essays in Economic and Business History

Currently in its 30th year of publication, *Essays in Economic and Business History* is edited and printed at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania. Articles for the journal are selected by a blind review process from papers submitted which have been presented at the Annual Meetings of the *Economic and Business Historical Society*.

### Subscription Information

Individuals subscribe by becoming members of the *Economic and Business Historical Society*. For institutional subscriptions and additional information on the journal, please contact:

Janice M. Traflet, *Essays* Editor, jtraflet@bucknell.edu. For information on the organization and its annual conferences, please visit www.ebhsoc.org.

EBHS is pleased to announce that the new Editor-in-chief (beginning with the upcoming Volume 31) will be Jason E. Taylor, Jerry and Felicia Campbell Professor of Economics at Central Michigan University.

### Emeritus Editors, Essays in Economic and Business History

James H. Soltow, 1976–1983 (volumes 1 and 2)

Edwin J. Perkins, 1984–1993 (volumes 3–12)

William R. Childs, 1994-1998 (volumes 13-17)

Michael V. Namorato, 1999-2003 (volumes 18-22)

David O. Whitten, 2004–2006 (volumes 22–24)

Lynne Pierson Doti, 2007-2009 (volumes 25-27)

# 2012 Style Guidelines for Writing and Submitting Papers

- Papers (25 page maximum) must be in a recent version of Microsoft Word, and must be sent via email attachment to the new Editor, Jason Taylor, at taylo2je@cmich.edu.
- Use 12 pt. Times New Roman font throughout.
- Double space the paper and endnotes. Margins should be 1" on all sides.
- Number all pages in the bottom center.
- Notes should conform to the Chicago Manual of Style.

### The First Page

- The front page should include the full title followed by the author's or authors' full name(s) and affiliation(s). We allow 2 lines for affiliation (for example, department and college).
- Put the full name, email, telephone number, fax number, and mailing address of the paper's contact who will speak with the Essays' editors.

### The Second and Third Pages

- On the second page give the title and an abstract of about 100 words.
- On the third page, start the text of the paper.

# Submitting your paper

Send an electronic version to the editor at taylo2je@cmich.edu by June 27, 2012. Please adhere to the guidelines to increase your chances of having the paper accepted.



# ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS HISTORICAL SOCIETY OFFICERS AND TRUSTEES, 2011-12

Chair of the Board of Trustees *Jari Eloranta*, Appalachian State University

President Lynne P. Doti, Chapman University

President-Elect Ranjit Dighe, SUNY-Oswego

Vice-President for Marketing and Communications *Erik Benson*, Cornerstone University

Secretary-Treasurer Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University

Program Chair Frederick Gates, Southwest Oklahoma State University

Editor *Janice Traflet*, Bucknell University

Associate Editors

Stephanie Crofton, High Point University

Neil Forbes, Coventry University

Erik Benson, Cornerstone University

Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University

Jason Taylor, Central Michigan University

### Trustees

Luciano Amaral, Universidade de Lisboa
Lisa Baillargeon, University of Quebec in Outaouais
Mark Billings, Nottingham University
Duncan Connors, Coventry University
Luis G. Dopico, Macrometrix
Patrice Gélinas, York University
Douglas Karsner, Bloomsburg University
Maria Eugenia Mata, Universidade de Lisboa
John Moore, Walsh College
Maria Cristina Moreira, Universidade do Mino
Eline Poelmans, Catholic University Leuven
Wade Shilts, Luther College
Olli Turunen, University of Jyväskylä
Patrick van Horn, The New College, Florida
Silvano Wueschner, Air University (webmaster)

Founder: Charles J. Kennedy, University of Nebraska

# Economic and Business Historical Society

### AWARDS 2011

EBHS gratefully acknowledges the recognition funding provided by Joyce and Ed Miller.

**The Editor's Award**, recognizes contributors of multiple articles to *Essays in Economic and Business History* whose work over several years gave scholarly definition to the journal.

2011 AWARD: Jari Eloranta, Appalachian State University

**The Charles Kennedy Award,** established in honor of the founder of the Economic and Business Historical Society, is given annually to the author or authors of the best article published in that year's issue of *Essays*.

2011 AWARD: Mathias Mutz, Humboldt University Berlin, for "Going Global-Acting Local: Siemens in the Chinese Electrical Market, 1904-1937."

**The James Soltow Award,** established in honor of the founder and first editor of *Essays in Economic and Business History*, is given for the best article in that year's issue of *Essays* by an author or authors who have not previously published in *Essays*.

2011 AWARD: John A. Moore, Walsh College, for "'The Grossest and Most Unjust Species of Favoritism': Competing Views of Republican Political Economy: the Tariff Debates of 1841 and 1842."

