Tolume XXIV 2006

Essays in Economic & Business History

The Economic and Business Historical Society

## ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS HISTORICAL SOCIETY

Officers and Trustees, 2005-2006

Chair of the Board of Trustees (Chief Executive Officer) **Laurence Malone**, *Hartwick College* 

President, 2002-2003

Harvey Gresham Hudspeth, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff President, 2003–2004

Kenneth Weiher, University of Texas at San Antonio

President, 2004-2005

James Stitt, High Point University

President, 2005-2006

Michael V. Namorato, University of Mississippi

President-Elect

Roberto Mazzoleni, Hofstra University

Vice-President for Membership Silvano A. Wueschner, Air University USAF

Secretary/Treasurer

John Paul Rossi, Pennsylvania State University-Erie

Editor

David O. Whitten, Auburn University
Associate Editors
Stephanie O. Crofton, High Point University
Scott Dalrymple, Hartwick College

D. Gene Pace, Claffin University

Trustees

Erik Benson, Cornerstone University (2008)
Alan Bures, Radford University (2008)
Ranjit S. Dighe, State University of New York at Oswego (2008)
Lynne Pierson Doti, Chapman University (2008)
George Gibson, Union College (2008)
Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University (2007)
Richard H. Keehn, University of Wisconsin-Parkside (2007)
Malcolm Russell, Union College (2008)
Wade Shilts, Luther College (2008)
William G. Smiley, Marquette University (2007)
Janice Traflet, Bucknell University (2007)

Founder

Charles J. Kennedy, University of Nebraska

Thomas R. Winpenny, Elizabethtown College (2008)

Chair of the Board of Trustees, emeritus Philip R. Smith, Michigan State University

## Economic and Business Historical Society Annual Awards, 2005

The Editor's Award, established in 2005 to be awarded beginning in 2006, recognizes contributors of multiple articles to Essays in Economic and Business History whose work over several years gives scholarly definition to the journal.

The Charles J. Kennedy Award, established in honor of the founder of the Economic and Business Historical Society, is given annually to the author or authors of the best article published in that year's issue of Essays in Economic and Business History. The 2005 award was presented in High Point, North Carolina, to Harvey Gresham Hudspeth of Mississippi Valley State University for "One Percent Inspiration and 99 Percent Tracing Paper': The Pan-Electric Scandal and the Making of a Circuit Court Judge, April-November 1886."

The James Soltow Award, established in honor of the founder and first editor of Essays in Economic and Business History, is given for the best article in that year's issue of Essays by an author or authors who have not previously published in Essays. The 2005 award was presented in High Point, North Carolina, to Scott Dalrymple of Hartwick College for "A Glass Half Full: Capitalist Ethics in the Novels of Will Payne."

