The $1,000 James Soltow Award for Best Paper in Essays in Economic & Business History in 2014 was shared by two outstanding papers:

John A. Dove (Troy University), Gary M. Pecquet (Central Michigan University), and Clifford F. Thies (Shenandoah University) for THE MICHIGAN FREE BANK EXPERIENCE: WILD CAT BANKING OR INTERFERENCE WITH CONTRACT?


Bernardo Bátiz-Lazo (Bangor University), Tobias Karlsson (Lund University), and Björn Thodenius (Stockholm School of Economics) for THE ORIGINS OF THE CASHLESS SOCIETY: CASH DISPENSERS, DIRECT-TO-ACCOUNT PAYMENTS AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF ON-LINE REAL-TIME NETWORKS, C.1965-1985.