EBHS 2015 Call for Papers

Posted on: November 4th, 2014 by EBHS No Comments

40th Annual Conference
La Crosse, Wisconsin
May 28-30, 2015

La Crosse, Wis. 1873. Geo. H. Ellsbury, del. Milwaukee Lith. & Eng. Co. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.gmd/g4124l.pm010370Call for Papers extended until March 2, 2015! Start here to submit a paper.

Registration is now open (deadline April 27). Before registering, please see our lodging options.

The Economic and Business History Society (EBHS) is now accepting proposals for our 40th annual conference, to be held at the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse. Proposals for presentations on any aspect of economic or business history are welcome, as are proposals for whole panels. We welcome submissions from graduate students and non-academic affiliates.

Conference Site

The EBHS conference offers participants the opportunity for intellectual interchange with an international, interdisciplinary, and collegial group of scholars (typically about half our participants are from economics departments and half are from history or economic history departments). The EBHS prides itself on its openness to new members and we offer reduced conference fees for graduate students and early career researchers (four years or less since doctorate earned). Our regular registration fees are reasonable, as is the cost of accommodation at the conference venue.

The keynote speaker at the conference dinner will be Professor Jeffrey Williamson, Laird Bell Professor of Economics, Emeritus, Harvard University.

In addition to the sessions, we will be organizing some social activities that should be of interest to all participants. These include a riverboat cruise on the mighty Mississippi and a trip to the ballpark for dinner and a prime seat in the Lumberyard, home of the La Crosse Loggers of the Northwoods League; for those interested in good minor league baseball, more information may be found at http://northwoodsleague.com/. Of course, in keeping with the collegial nature of EBHS, there will be ample opportunity for informal social activities, and La Crosse has no shortage of great options.

Proposals should include an abstract of no more than 500 words and contact details. The deadline for submission of proposals is March 2, 2015. The Program Chair will send a notification of acceptance of abstracts by March 15, 2015. Online registration will be available soon at www.ebhsoc.org.

Proposals may be submitted through the EBHS website at www.ebhsoc.org, or to the Program Chair by postal mail:

Mike Haupert
Department of Economics
University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
1725 State St.
La Crosse, WI 54601

If you have further questions about the meeting or organization please contact Program Chair Mike Haupert, mhaupert@uwlax.edu, or EBHS President Erik Benson, erik.benson@cornerstone.edu.

EBHS also operates a peer-reviewed open access journal, Essays in Economic and Business History, edited by Jason Taylor (Central Michigan University). Conference papers and non-conference papers alike may be submitted to Essays for consideration. We invite you to visit our website, www.ebhsoc.org, to see our editorial board and policies, as well as back issues.

We look forward to welcoming you to La Crosse!

Call for Papers

Essays in Economic & Business History Vol. 32 (2014) Available Online

Posted on: July 3rd, 2014 by EBHS No Comments

Essays in Economic & Business History

Table of Contents

EEBH 2014 Cover

EEBH In Press: Competitive Balance in American College Football

Posted on: January 22nd, 2015 by EBHS No Comments

Steven Salaga’s Competitive Balance in American College Football: The Gi Bill, Grant-in-Aid and the College Football Association, forthcoming in the May 2015 printed volume of Essays in Economic & Business History, is now available on-line.

EEBH In Press: The Mexican Calorie Allocation Among the Working Class in the American West, 1870-1920

Posted on: December 1st, 2014 by EBHS No Comments

Scott Alan Carson’s The Mexican Calorie Allocation Among the Working Class in the American West, 1870-1920, forthcoming in the May 2015 printed volume of Essays in Economic & Business History, is now available on-line.

Soltow Award 2014

Posted on: July 9th, 2014 by EBHS No Comments

James Soltow Award for Best Paper in EEBH in 2014

The $1,000 James Soltow Award for Best Paper in Essays in Economic & Business History in 2014 was shared by two outstanding papers:

John A. Dove (Troy University), Gary M. Pecquet (Central Michigan University), and Clifford F. Thies (Shenandoah University) for THE MICHIGAN FREE BANK EXPERIENCE: WILD CAT BANKING OR INTERFERENCE WITH CONTRACT?


Bernardo Bátiz-Lazo (Bangor University), Tobias Karlsson (Lund University), and Björn Thodenius (Stockholm School of Economics) for THE ORIGINS OF THE CASHLESS SOCIETY: CASH DISPENSERS, DIRECT-TO-ACCOUNT PAYMENTS AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF ON-LINE REAL-TIME NETWORKS, C.1965-1985.

Congratulations for the winners!